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Assembly bill A-4715, signed into law July 8, 2006, provides for an increase in the statutory
assessment on motor vehicle rental companies from $2.00 to $5.00 per day to be paid to the
Division of Taxation for each day or part thereof that a motor vehicle is rented under rental
agreements of not more than 28 days. The increased fee applies with respect to all rental
agreements in New Jersey in effect on or after July 8, 2006.

The fee is separate from and in addition to any Sales Tax imposed on the cost of the rental
transaction and is not to be included in the receipts subject to Sales Tax liability imposed
pursuant to the “Sales and Use Tax Act,” P.L. 1966, c. 30 (C.54:32B-1 et seq.). The fee is
designated as the “Domestic Security Fee” in the rental agreement and paid to the Division of
Taxation for deposit in the New Jersey Domestic Security Account of the General Fund.

Pursuant to the rule making authority granted to the Director of the Division of Taxation under
the Administrative Procedure Act, P.L. 1968, c. 410 (N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq.) and P.L. 1966, c. 30
(N.J.S.A. 54:32B-1), the Division previously adopted Administrative Code regulation N.J.A.C.
18:40-1.1 et seq. This regulation provides guidelines and procedures for the implementation of
the above legislation and will be amended to set forth the increased fee.

The fee may be filed telephonically or online. Filing instructions can be found at
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation /pdf/other forms/dsf100phonein.pdf. he increased fee
will be paid on a quarterly basis, due the last day of the month following the close of the
calendar quarter.

All inquiries concerning the fee should be directed to: New Jersey Division of Taxation, 50
Barrack Street, P.O. Box 269, Trenton, New Jersey 08695-0269 or by e-mailing the Division at
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/contactus_tyttaxa.shtml.

Note: A Technical Bulletin is an informational document designed to provide guidance on a
topic of interest to taxpayers and describe changes to the law, regulations, or Division policies. It
is accurate as of the date issued. However, taxpayers should be aware that subsequent changes
in the tax law or its interpretation may affect the accuracy of a Technical Bulletin. The
information provided in this document does not cover every situation and is not intended to
replace the law or change its meaning.
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