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 • Keep a copy of your return and all supporting docu-
ments, schedules, and worksheets until the statute of 
limitations has expired for each return. Generally, this 
is three years after the filing date or two years from the 
date the tax was paid, whichever is later. 

 • If you filed your original return and need to make 
changes or correct mistakes, you must file an amended 
return (NJ-1040X). Do not refile Form NJ-1040.

Privacy Act Notification
The Division of Taxation uses your Social Security number 
primarily to account for and give credit for tax payments. We 
also use Social Security numbers to administer and enforce 
all tax laws for which we are responsible. In addition, the 
Division is required by law to forward an annual list to the 
Administrative Office of the Courts containing the names, 
addresses, and Social Security numbers of individuals who 
file a New Jersey tax return or Property Tax Credit/Wounded 
Warrior Caregivers Credit application. This list will be used 

to avoid duplication of names on jury lists. The Division also 
is required to transmit to the Department of Human Services 
(DHS) annually information from New Jersey tax returns that 
will permit DHS to identify individuals who do not have health 
insurance and who may be eligible for Medicaid or the NJ 
FamilyCare program.

Federal/State Tax Agreement
The Division of Taxation and the Internal Revenue Service 
have entered into a Federal/State Agreement to exchange 
Income Tax information in order to verify the accuracy and 
consistency of information reported on federal and New Jersey 
Income Tax returns.

Fraudulent Return
You may be liable for a penalty up to $7,500, or imprisonment 
for three to five years, or both, if you deliberately fail to file a 
return, file a fraudulent return, or attempt to evade paying your 
tax.

Use of Form NJ-1040-HW
If you are not required to file Form NJ-1040 because your 
income was at or below the filing threshold (see page 3), you 
may be able to use Form NJ-1040-HW to apply for a Property 
Tax Credit and/or a Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit. 

Property Tax Credit
If you were either a homeowner or a tenant and you met the el-
igibility requirements for a Property Tax Credit (see page 25), 
you qualify for a credit of $50 ($25 if you and your spouse file 
separate returns but maintained the same principal residence 
(main home)). 

Complete Part I, Form NJ-1040-HW, to apply for the Prop-
erty Tax Credit ONLY if:

 • You do not file a 2023 Form NJ-1040; and
 • Your New Jersey gross income for 2023 was not more 

than $20,000, or $10,000 if your filing status is single 
or married/CU partner, filing separate return (part-year 
residents must use income for the entire year); and

 • You were 65 or older or blind or disabled on the last day 
of the tax year. 

Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit
If you provided care for a relative who was a qualifying 
armed services member, you qualify for a credit of $675 or the 
amount of the service member’s federal disability compensa-
tion, whichever is less. See page 43 for information on who 

is considered a “relative” and who is considered a “qualifying 
armed services member.” 

Complete Part II, Form NJ-1040-HW, to apply for the 
Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit ONLY if you:

 • Do not file a 2023 Form NJ-1040; and
 • Your New Jersey gross income for 2023 was not more 

than $20,000, or $10,000 if your filing status is single 
or married/CU partner, filing separate return (part-year 
residents must use income for the entire year).

When to File
Residents have until April 15, 2024, to file Form NJ-1040-HW 
for 2023.

Identification Section
Name and Address
Place the peel-off label from the front of this booklet in the 
name and address sec tion at the top of the application. Do not 
use the label if any of the information is incorrect. If your 
label contains incorrect information or you do not have a label, 
print or type the information in the spaces provided. If you are 
filing jointly, include your spouse’s name.

Fill in the “Change of Address” oval if your address has 
changed since you last filed a New Jersey return or if any of 
the address information on your label is incorrect.

https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
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Social Security Number
You must enter your Social Security number in the boxes 
provided on the return, one digit in each box. If you are fil-
ing jointly, enter both filers’ numbers in the same order as the 
names. If you (or your spouse) do not have a  Social Security 
number, see “Social Security Number” on page 5 for more 
 information.

County/Municipality Code
Enter the four-digit code of your current residence from the 
table on page 52. Enter one digit in each box. 

Filing Status (Lines 1–5)
You must use the same filing status on Form NJ-1040-HW as 
you would have used if you had filed a New Jersey Income 
Tax return. Indicate the appropriate filing status. Fill in only 
one oval. For more information, see “Filing Status” on page 5.

NJ Residency Status (Line 6)
If you were a New Jersey resident for only part of the year, list 
the month and day in the tax year your residency began and 
the month and day in the tax year it ended.  For example, if 
you moved to New Jersey August 4, 2023, enter 08/04/23 to 
12/31/23.

Part I — Property Tax Credit
Homeowner or Tenant During 2023 
(Line 7)
Indicate whether at any time during 2023 you either owned or 
rented a home in New Jersey that you occupied as your main 
home on which property taxes or rent were paid. Fill in only 
one oval. You may be asked to provide proof of property taxes 
or rent paid on your main home at a later time. 

If you answer “None” here, you are not eligible for a Prop-
erty Tax Credit. Do not complete Part I. 

Age 65 or Older or Blind or Disabled 
(Lines 8a and 8b)
Line 8a — Age 65 or Older. Indicate whether you were 65 or 
older on the last day of the 2023 Tax Year. Fill in the appro-
priate oval to the right of “Yourself.” If you are filing a joint 
application, fill in the appropriate oval to the right of “Spouse/
CU partner.”

Proof of Age. You must enclose proof of age such as a copy of 
a birth certificate, driver’s license, or church records the first 
time you indicate that you (or your spouse) are 65 or older. 

Line 8b — Blind or Disabled. Indicate whether you were 
blind or disabled on the last day of the 2023 Tax Year. Fill in 

the ap  propriate oval to the right of “Yourself.” If you are filing 
a joint application, fill in the appropriate oval to the right of 
“Spouse/CU partner.”

Proof of Disability. You must enclose a copy of the doctor’s 
certificate or other medical records evidencing legal blindness 
or total and permanent disability the first time you indicate that 
you (or your spouse) are blind or disabled.  

Fill in the “Yes” ovals only if you or your spouse met the 
qualifications; they do not apply to your dependents or do-
mestic partner. 

If you answer “No” to the questions at line 8a and line 8b 
for both yourself and your spouse/CU partner, do not com-
plete Part I.  

Homeowner on October 1, 2023 (Line 9)
If you owned and occupied a home in New Jersey that was 
your main home on October 1, 2023, and property taxes were 
paid on that home, fill in the “Yes” oval.  

Part II — Wounded Warrior 
Caregivers Credit
Eligibility (Line 10)
If you provided care for a relative who was a qualifying 
armed services member, fill in the “Yes” oval. (See page 43 
for information on who is considered a “relative” and who is 
considered a “qualifying armed services member.”) If you an-
swer “Yes,” enter the name and Social Security number of the 
qualifying service member. Also, enter your relationship to the 
service member.

If you answer “No” here, you are not eligible for a 
Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit. Do not complete 
Part II. 

Credit Calculation (Lines 11a–11c)
Line 11a — Enter the amount of the 2023 federal disability 
compensation of the qualifying armed services member for 
whom you provided care. 
Line 11b — The maximum credit is $675. 
Line 11c — Enter the lesser of line 11a or line 11b.

Multiple Caregivers (Line 12)
If you were the only caregiver during the tax year for the 
service member indicated on line 10, fill in the “Yes” oval. 
If someone else provided care for the same person, fill in the 
“No” oval.

If you answer “No” here, enter your percentage of the total 
care expenses for the year. When two or more people care for 
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the same person, the credit is apportioned based on their share 
of total care expenses.

Credit Amount (Line 13)
If you answered “Yes” at line 12, enter the amount from 
line 11c. If you answered “No” at line 12, multiply line 11c by 
the percentage on line 12. 

Enclose a copy of your caregiver approval letter with your 
application. You may be required to submit additional docu-
mentation to verify your eligibility.

Signature
Sign and date your application in blue or black ink. Both 
spouses must sign a joint appli cation. The sig nature(s) on the 
form you file must be original; photocopied signa tures are 
not acceptable. We cannot process an application without the 
proper signatures and will return it to you. This may delay the 
payment of your credit(s).

If you are filing for a deceased taxpayer and you want the Di-
vision to issue the check to the decedent’s surviving spouse or 
estate: 

 • Enclose a copy of the decedent’s death certificate (if an 
estate, also include the Surrogate’s Short Certificate); 
and

 • Fill in the oval below the signature line.

For information about authorizing the Division of Taxation to 
discuss your return and enclosures with your paid preparer, see 
“Preparer Authorization” on page 46.

Where to Mail Your Application
Use the envelope in your booklet to mail Form NJ-1040-HW 
and related enclosures. Send only one application per enve-
lope. Use the return address label from the flap of the envelope 
addressed to:
 State of New Jersey
 Division of Taxation 
 Revenue Processing Center – Refunds
 PO Box 555
 Trenton NJ 08647-0555




