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First Round of Homestead Rebate Checks to be Mailed; 
Maximum Non-Senior Tenant Benefit Climbs to $350 

*Application Deadline Extended* 
 

TRENTON – Governor Jon S. Corzine and State Treasurer Bradley Abelow announced 
today that the Division of Taxation will begin mailing Homestead Rebate checks 
tomorrow to 1.2 million New Jersey households. Half of the recipients are non-senior 
tenants who will see their average benefit increase more than three-fold this year under 
the new Homestead Property Relief Program and FY 08 Budget approved by the 
Legislature. 
 
“Whether paid through rent or directly through a homeowner’s bill, property taxes are a 
burden for all New Jersey residents,” said Governor Corzine, who today visited the Hub – 
the West Trenton warehouse facility where Homestead Rebate checks are being printed 
and prepped for tomorrow’s mailing..  “This program will provide direct, much-needed 
relief while we simultaneously keep the focus on reforms that will bring the cost of 
government under control,” he said. 
 
Eligible senior and disabled homeowners, as well as all senior and non-senior tenants 
who filed their applications by June 1, can expect their 2006 rebate checks to arrive 
beginning later this week. For those who have not yet filed for their 2006 Homestead 
Rebates or their Senior Freeze (Property Tax reimbursement Program), the deadline has 
been re-extended, from August 15 to October 31, 2007. 
 
 “We want to ensure that all eligible residents have the opportunity to apply for much-
anticipated property tax relief,” said Treasurer Abelow. “The August 15 deadline is fast 
approaching, and many potential applicants, particularly those who may not have been 
eligible for these programs in prior years, still need time to file. This extension will help 
to ensure that everyone has the chance to participate,” he said. 
 
 



Beginning tomorrow, checks will be mailed out to approximately 640,000 non-senior 
tenants.   For these taxpayers, the new maximum Homestead Rebate -- $350 -- is more 
than four and a half times greater than last year’s maximum of $75.  In this week’s 
mailing, non-senior tenants will receive an average check of $246. 
 
Also with this mailing, 462,000 senior and disabled homeowners will receive checks 
amounting up to a percentage of the first $10,000 of their property taxes up to a 
maximum of $2,000, an $800 increase over last year’s maximum. The rebate percentage 
is based on income, with a 20 percent rebate for homeowners with an income of 
$100,000 or less, 15 percent for those with an income between $100,001 and $150,000, 
and 10 percent for those with an income between $150,001 and $250,000. Because 
rebates were limited for 2004 and 2005 to homeowners with income of $200,000 or less, 
rebates paid to senior and disabled homeowners with income of $200,001 to $250,000 
will be determined using only the percentage of property taxes. The average check for 
senior/disabled homeowners is $1,275, up from last year’s average of $1,150.  
 
Approximately 85,000 senior or disabled tenants will receive rebates of $160 to $860. 
And the nonsenior, nondisabled tenants will receive rebate checks ranging from $80 to 
$350.  Additional rebate checks will be mailed out as soon as possible for senior, disabled 
and tenant filers submitting applications between June 1 and the extended filing deadline.  
 
Rebate checks for eligible nonsenior, nondisabled homeowners who file their 
applications by the original August 15, 2007, deadline are scheduled to be mailed in 
the fall. Checks for applications filed between August 16 and the extended deadline of 
October 31, 2007, will be issued as quickly as possible, but may not be included in the 
initial fall distribution. 
 
For information about the Homestead Rebate Program, residents may call 1-888-238-
1233. Homeowners who still have not filed their rebate applications can do so by phone 
(1-877-658-2972) or online at www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ . The automated 
telephone filing system and Internet filing application are available 24 hours a day, 7 
days a week. The filing deadline is now October 31, 2007.  
 
Homeowners and tenants can find out the status of their rebate check by calling 1-877-
658-2972, or online at www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/homestead/06hrintro.htm . 
Rebate check information for homeowners who are under 65 and not disabled will not be 
available either online or by phone until the fall. 
 
Information about the Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement) Program is available 
by calling 1-800-882-6597 or on the Division of Taxation’s Web site at 
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/propfrez.htm.  
Information regarding all State property tax relief programs may be found at 
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/relief.htm. 
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