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Division of Taxation to Offer Extended Hours
as April 17 Filing Deadline Approaches

TRENTON - State Treasurer Bradley Abelow today reminded taxpayers that all
individual income tax returns and payments for 2006 must be postmarked or
electronically submitted by Tuesday, April 17, 2007, in order to avoid penalties and
interest. The deadline for State returns and payments has been extended to match the
April 17 deadline for filing Federal income tax returns.

The Treasurer encouraged taxpayers who have not yet submitted their New Jersey returns
to file electronically using New Jersey’s “FastFile” options: NJ WebFile or NJ E-File.
These easy-to-use systems enable taxpayers to submit paperless returns via the Internet or
through the use of a computer software package. The NJ TeleFile Program for filing by
phone was discontinued this year.

“If you want your income tax refund quickly, the best thing to do is to file electronically,”
Treasurer Abelow said, noting that electronic filing offers taxpayers a fast, safe, accurate,
convenient and user-friendly alternative to completing and mailing a paper form.
Electronic filers can also opt to have their refunds directly deposited, an option that is not
available to those filing paper returns.

“Last year the number of returns filed electronically exceeded two million for the first
time, and we believe the upward trend will continue,” Treasurer Abelow said. Of the
more than 2.9 million returns filed so far this season, 1.8 million, or 62 percent of them,
have been filed electronically. Electronically filed returns are up approximately 8 percent
over last year.

Taxpayers who need help completing their returns may contact the Division of Taxation’s
Customer Service Center by calling 609-292-6400. They may also visit one of the



Division’s Regional Offices located throughout the State. Division representatives will be
available to provide assistance during the period leading up to the filing deadline as
follows:

Customer Service Trenton Other

(Phone) Center Regional Office Regional Offices
April9—13  8:30a.m.-4:30p.m.  8:30a.m.—-4:30 p.m. 8:30 a.m.—4:30 p.m.
April 14 8:30am.-6:00 p.m.  8:30a.m.-1:30 p.m. Closed
April 16 8:30 a.m. — 8:00 p.m. 8:30 a.m.— 6:00 p.m. 8:30a.m.-6:00 p.m.
April 17 8:30am.-8:00p.m.  8:30a.m.— 6:00 p.m. 8:30a.m.-6:00 p.m.

Taxation Regional Offices are located at the following addresses:

Asbury Park................. 630 Bangs Avenue

Camden.........ceveeenennn. 2 Riverside Drive, One Port Center, Suite 200
Fair Lawn.......cccceeeeneee. 2208 Rt. 208 South

Newark .......c.ccceevennene. 124 Halsey Street, 2nd Floor

Northfield .................... 1915-A New Road (Rt. 9)
Somerville...........c....... 75 Veterans Memorial Drive East, Suite 103
Trenton ......cccccveevvenenee. 50 Barrack Street, 1st Floor Lobby

Division of Taxation employees will be available at each regional office to answer
questions, assist with return preparation, accept completed tax forms, or supply blank
forms. Directions to the offices are available on the Division’s Web site at:
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ot1.htm.

The Treasurer also reminded taxpayers who owe tax not to overlook the advantages of
making their payments electronically. “You can file now and pay at any time until
midnight on April 17th,” Abelow said. Electronic payments can be made by electronic
check (e-check) and credit card. There is a credit card convenience fee of 2.49 percent
paid directly to Official Payments Corporation based on the amount of the tax payment.

Taxpayers who need more time to file their returns can request a six-month extension of
time to file. Extension requests can be submitted online through the Division of
Taxation’s Web site (www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/online.htm ) or by mail using the
traditional paper form, Form NJ-630, Application for Extension of Time to File New
Jersey Gross Income Tax Return, which can be printed from the Division of Taxation’s
Web site. However, at least 80 percent of a filer’s actual New Jersey income tax must be
paid by April 17 in order to receive an extension. Mailed extension applications must be
postmarked on or before Tuesday, April 17, 2007; online extension requests can be
submitted until midnight on April 17. Anyone making a payment of tax due with an
online extension must pay by e-check or credit card.

Taxpayers who apply for an automatic extension of time to file their Federal returns may
receive an extension for their New Jersey returns by including a copy of the Federal
application when they submit their New Jersey income tax returns, provided they meet all
other requirements (including the requirement that at least 80 percent of the actual New


http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ot1.htm
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/online.htm

Jersey income tax liability be paid on or before April 17). Taxpayers who file for a
Federal extension but also need to make a payment of New Jersey tax by the April 17 due
date must submit Form NJ-630 with that payment or file and pay online.

“Taxpayers must remember that an extension of time to file an income tax return is not an
extension of time to pay the tax due under the Gross Income Tax Act,” Treasurer Abelow
explained. “Penalties and interest are imposed whenever tax is paid after the due date.”

Attached is a list of important contacts for New Jersey taxpayer information and assistance.

New Jersey Taxpayer Information & Assistance

CUSTOMET SErVICE CENTEN .....coivieie e 609-292-6400
Speak directly to a representative for income tax information and assistance,
Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m., except holidays

Division of Taxation Web Site .......cccccuvvvvvvvieinnnnnnns WWW.State.nj.us/treasury/taxation/

Electronic Filing
NI VVEDFTIE . eeeeenenees www.njfastfile.com
File State returns for free from a secure Internet site

Electronic Payment
Make payments of 2006 income tax or 2007 estimated tax by e-check or credit
card (Visa, American Express, MasterCard, or Discover)

e ONliNe..cooove e www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/online.htm

¢ Phone
o] o[- o] RN UURRRURRRRR 609-292-6400
Credit Card. ... 1-800-2PAYTAX
Earned Income Tax Credit INformation..........ccoovveeeee e 609-292-6400
TTY EQUIPMENt USETS......vveeoeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeseere 1-800-286-6613" or 609-984-7300

Ask questions or order forms and/or publications

Automated Tax Information System.................... 1-800-323-4400" or 609-826-4400
Touch-tone phone information and assistance including: refund inquiries, recorded
tax information, and a forms/publications request system

A I D O USRS 609-826-4500
Request facsimile State tax returns and publications

Property Tax Reimbursement (Senior Freeze) Hotline .................. 1-800-882-6597"
Speak directly to a representative for property tax reimbursement information and
assistance, Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m., except holidays

*Toll-free within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD


http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/
http://www.njfastfile.com/
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/online.htm




	 
	Department of the Treasury 
	Asbury Park 
	New Jersey Taxpayer Information & Assistance
	Customer Service Center 609-292-6400 
	Electronic Filing 
	Electronic Payment 

	TTY Equipment Users 1-800-286-6613* or 609-984-7300 
	Automated Tax Information System 1-800-323-4400* or 609-826-4400 
	NJ TaxFax 609-826-4500 


